Chick’n and Baby Bok Choy Stir Fry

Chik'n and Baby Bok Choy Stir Fry 1

I found a delicious looking recipe on Real Simple for their Chicken and Bok Choy Stir-Fry and had just recently found 3 heads of baby bok choy at my local Asian market for $3.50, so I decided I MUST give it a try.  However, being vegan I had to make some alterations.

I decided to use Gardein’s Teriyaki Chick’n Strips and cover two bases at once.  I’ve swapped the chicken and used the teriyaki sauce packet in place of the soy sauce.  I also didn’t have scallions on hand, so I used a yellow onion from my pantry.  I had some microwavable brown rice on hand, so I used that as the soft bed with which to cradle this delicious dish.

If you’re not vegan, you can always follow their original recipe, but if you’re adventurous you should give the vegan version a try.  My meat-eating family members love the meals I cook and always comment that they wouldn’t know it wasn’t real meat.  So why not give it a try?  You may be pleasantly surprised.

Chick’n and Baby Bok Choy Stir Fry

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg Gardein Teriyaki Chick’n Strips (found in the frozen vegetarian foods)
  • 1 medium yellow onion, halved and sliced
  • 3 heads baby bok choy, quartered (found in most local grocery stores or in Asian markets)
  • 2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup store-bought (or homemade) vegan barbecue sauce
  • 1/4 cup water
  • Salt and pepper

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in non-stick skillet over medium heat.
  2. Add onions to hot oil and cook until just tender.  Add chick’n strips, salt and pepper to skillet, and cook until browned and heated through.  Transfer chick’n and onions to a plate.
  3. Add bok choy and water to skillet.  Cover and cook until just tender, about 3 or 4 minutes.
  4. In the mean time, combine teriyaki sauce packet and barbecue sauce.
  5. Remove cover from skillet, add sauce and bring to a boil.
  6. Add chick’n and onions, and toss to coat.  Cook until heated through.
  7. Serve over cooked brown or white rice.

*For a gluten-free version of this recipe, follow the original recipe at the link provided, use Tyson’s Grilled & Ready chicken strips, replace the soy sauce with gluten-free tamari sauce, and use a gluten-free barbecue sauce like Sweet Baby Ray’s Original.

Leave a Reply

